Minnesota's 2016 General Election Results



With the polls—as well as the history books—closing only hours ago, we would like to give you a quick snapshot of how Minnesota voters rendered their verdict in yesterday's historic election. Most races have been decided, although a number of them are either too close to call or early voting tabulations have not been completed.

The following is a rundown of the top races in Minnesota and the results of each:


Donald Trump has been elected President of the United States. As of this writing, Hillary Clinton won Minnesota by a margin of 46% to 45%. Trump ran strong nationwide in traditional Democratic strongholds and Minnesota was no exception.

Minnesota House of Representatives

The Minnesota House of Representatives will continue to be controlled by the Republicans by a 75 to 57 seat margin when legislators convene on January 3, 2017. One seat remains undecided and one seat will be decided by a special election in early 2017. House Republicans currently control the Minnesota House by a 73-61 seat margin.

Minnesota Senate

Republicans will now control the Minnesota Senate when legislators return to the Capitol for the 2017 session. Republicans will control the Minnesota Senate by a razor thin 34 to 33 seat margin. DFLer's currently control the Senate by a 38 to 28 margin.

Minnesota 2nd Congressional District

In one of three Minnesota congressional districts closely watched by national politicos, Republican Jason Lewis won over DFL candidate Angie Craig by a 47% to 45% margin.

Minnesota 3rd Congressional District

This suburban district that trends Republican easily reelected Republican Congressman Erik Paulsen by a 57% to 43% margin over DFL State Senator Terri Bonoff.

Minnesota 8th Congressional District

In one of the most expensive and closely watched races in the country, incumbent DFL Congressman Rick Nolan faced off again with his 2014 Republican opponent Stewart Mills. As of this writing, it appears that Congressman Nolan has won this race by a narrow 50% to 49% margin. Less than 2000 votes separate the two candidates.

Updates and Analysis

Please keep your eye on your email in the coming days for further updates and analysis. The Stinson Government Solutions Team will be providing further analysis of the election results including:

  • Final election tabulations
  • Changes in legislative leadership
  • Changes in legislative chairs
  • Election analysis and its impact on the 2017 Minnesota legislature

For up-to-the-minute vote tabulations and results, you can also visit the elections site of the Minnesota Secretary of State.

For more information on the post election results, please contact Paul Cassidy, Andrew Chelseth, Jeremy Estenson, Suzanna Kennedy, Margaret Reynolds, or the Stinson Leonard Street contact with whom you regularly work.

Related Capabilities

Subscribe to Stinson's
News & Insights
Jump to Page

We use cookies on our website to improve functionality and performance, analyze website traffic and enable social media features. For more information, please see our Cookie Policy.