Share

Retainage: What Can Be Held Back and For How Long?

Firm Events
09.01.2016

Retainage is very common in the commercial/industrial/government contract world, and very uncommon almost everywhere else. To curb abuses, many states and government agencies have enacted laws and regulations to control how much money can be held back by an owner or upper-tier contractor. The rules are different all over the place, and unfortunately, a lot of people just flat ignore them. Join us on Thursday, September 22 when Susan McGreevy of our Kansas City office discusses this topic, including issues such as:

  • Is there a law that limits what can be held for your project?
  • When can an owner or GC hold more than the 5 or 10% that is set out in the law?
  • What if a sub/supplier won't agree to let you hold retainage?
  • Can I get attorney's fees if I have to sue to get retainage?
  • Can I avoid having retainage held on me? 

Attorneys will be on hand in our Denver, Minneapolis, St. Louis, and Washington D.C. offices to provide immediate feedback and to ensure we answer your questions.

Register online by Monday, September 19.

When: Thursday, September 22

Registration

6:50-7 a.m. (MT)

7:30-8 a.m. (CT)

8:50-9 a.m. (ET)

Program

7-8 a.m. (MT)

8-9 a.m. (CT)

9-10 a.m. (ET)

Where: Stinson Leonard Street

Denver

Kansas City

Minneapolis

St. Louis

Washington, D.C.

Related Capabilities

Subscribe to Stinson's
News & Insights
Jump to Page

We use cookies on our website to improve functionality and performance, analyze website traffic and enable social media features. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our use of cookies. For more information, please see our Cookie Policy.